Tuesday, November 24, 2009

Note: The candidate new College of Commissioners

Last update: Nov. 24

Below is a list of the Commissioners who were nominated by their respective countries' governments. I am including notes (work in progress)

The European Parliament will interview each one of them separately (the EP Committee(s) which cover(s) the same policy area(s) as each Commissioner's portfolio). The EP in Plenary can approve or reject the whole Commission team, not a particular Commissioner, at least officially.

Once, appointed, the Commissioners do not represent their countries (at least in theory). Yet most nominating governments push for "their" Commissioner to get a "crucial" portfolio. In some cases, nominating a person of different political affiliation if that will get him/her a strategucally crucial portfolio. Complicated?

JM Barroso has already been approved as President for 2009-2014 by the EP.

Commission President José Manuel Barroso (Portugal, ex-PM, EPP, second term)

European Peoples' Party political affiliation: (12 + 1 (Barroso); 10 men, 3 women (23%))

Johannes Hahn (Austria, ÖVP, former Minister for Science and Research)

Rumiana Jeleva (Bulgaria, Foreign Affairs Minister, ex-MEP)

Connie Hedegaard (Denmark, Minister of Climate)

Michel Barnier (France, was Commissioner before in 1999-2004)

Günther Oettinger (Germany, CDU, PM of Bade Wurtemberg)

Antonio Tajani (Italy)

Andris Piebalgs (Latvia, 2004-2009: Energy)

Algirdas Šemeta (Lithuania, 2004-2009)

Viviane Reding (Luxembourg, LCV, 2004-2009: Information Society and Media, for her 3rd term as Comm)

John Dalli (Malta)

Janusz Lewandowski (Poland)

Dacian Ciolos (Romania)

ELDR: 8 (4 men - 4 women (50%)):

Karel De Gucht (Belgium, returning)

Androulla Vassiliou (Cyprus, United Democrats, 2004-2009)

Siim Kallas (Estonia, 2004-2009; Administration)

Olli Rehn (Finland, 2004-2009: Enlargement)

Maire Geoghegan Quinn (Ireland, former Minister, Court of Auditors)

Neelie Kroes (The Netherlands, 2004-2009: Competition)

Janez Potocnik (Slovenia)

Cecilia Malmström (Sweden, until now Minister of European Affairs)

PES (European Socialists Party): 6 (4 men - 2 women (33%))

Stefan Fuele (Czech Republic. CSSD, European Affairs Minister, ex-UN ambassador)

Maria Damanaki (Greece, Ex-leader of the Synaspismos Party, now member of PASOK (Soc),
ex-Candidate for Athens Mayor)

László Andor (Hungary)

Maros Sefcovic (Slovakia)

Joaquín Almunia (Spain, 1999-2004: ECOFIN Affairs)

Catherine Ashton (UK, ex-House of Lords (Baroness), Trade Commissioner since last year, replacing P. Mandelson)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Hi there,

Feel free to comment.
Only suitable comments will be posted.
In EN, FR, GR, D, IT, SP, NL only (Use Google Translate otherwise SVP).