Friday, November 27, 2009

European Commission President announced the portofolios of his Commissioners-designate for 2009-2014

Less than 3 days after receiving the final nominations by the governments of the member countries, the European Commission's President Barroso has just announced, 12:15 CET (Europe) the responsibilities of the Commissioners-designate (the team is now to be interviewed and approved or rejected as a whole by the European Parliament until end of January 2010)

- Joaquín ALMUNIA (Spanish): Competition. Vice-President of the Commission.

- László ANDOR (Hungarian): Employment, Social Affairs and Inclusion.

- Baroness Catherine ASHTON (British): High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security and Vice-President of the Commission.

- Michel BARNIER (French): Internal Market and Services.

- Dacian CIOLOS (Romanian): Agriculture and Rural Development.

- John DALLI (Maltese): Health and Consumer Policy.

- Maria DAMANAKI (Greek): Maritime Affairs and Fisheries.

- Karel DE GUCHT (Belgian): Trade.

- Štefan FÜLE (Czech): Enlargement and European Neighbourhood Policy. *

- Johannes HAHN (Austrian): Regional Policy.

- Connie HEDEGAARD (Danish): Climate Action.

- Maire GEOGHEGAN-QUINN (Irish): Research and Innovation.

- Rumiana JELEVA (Bulgarian): International Cooperation, Humanitarian Aid and Crisis Response. *

- Siim KALLAS (Estonian): Transport. Vice-President of the Commission.

- Neelie KROES (Dutch): Digital Agenda. Vice-President of the Commission.

- Janusz LEWANDOWSKI (Polish): Budget and Financial Programming.

- Cecilia MALMSTRÖM (Swedish): Home Affairs.

- Günter OETTINGER (German): Energy.

- Andris PIEBALGS (Latvian): Development.*

- Janez POTOČNIK (Slovenian): Environment.

- Viviane REDING (Luxemb.): Justice, Fundamental Rights and Citizenship. Vice-President of the Commission.

- Olli REHN (Finn): Economic and Monetary Affairs.

- Maroš ŠEFČOVIČ (Slovakian): Vice-President of the Commission for Inter-Institutional Relations and Administration.

- Algirdas ŠEMETA (Lithuanian): Taxation and Customs Union, Audit and Anti-Fraud.

- Antonio TAJANI (Italian): Industry and Entrepreneurship. Vice-President of the Commission.

- Androulla VASSILIOU (Cypriot): Education, Culture, Multilingualism and Youth.

* In close cooperation with the High Representative/Vice-President in accordance with the treaties.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Hi there,

Feel free to comment.
Only suitable comments will be posted.
In EN, FR, GR, D, IT, SP, NL only (Use Google Translate otherwise SVP).